The Sanskrit word paramita means to cross over to the other shore. Paramita may also be translated as perfection, perfect realization, or reaching beyond limitation. Through the practice of these six paramitas, we cross over the sea of Suffering (samsara) to the shore of happiness and awakening (Nirvana); we cross over from ignorance and delusion to enlightenment.

Each of the six paramitas is an enlightened quality of the heart, a glorious virtue or attribute – the innate seed of perfect realization within us. The paramitas are the very essence of our true nature. However, since these enlightened qualities of the heart have become obscured by delusion. selfishness, and other karmic tendencies, we must develop these potential qualities and bring them into expression.

The Six Paramita (click on each Paramita to get more information)

  • Giving – transforms greed and stinginess
  • Discipline – transforms wrong-doing and adultery
  • Patience – transforms humiliations and hatred
  • Diligence – transforms laziness
  • Meditation – transforms scatter-mindedness
  • Wisdom – transforms ignorance